News Hotline +94 114 320 921 | News Email

Cabraal to handover the letter of resignation today

(UTV | COLOMBO) – State Minister of Money & Capital Market and State Enterprise Reforms, Ajith Nivard Cabraal is set to reign from his State Minister portfolio and his National List seat today (13).

The letter of resignation will be handed over to the Secretary-General of Parliament, Dhammika Dasanayake this morning.

To fill the vacancy, Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) is focusing on appointing former Member of Parliament Jayantha Ketagoda.

Ketagoda resigned from the post of National List Member of the SLPP on 06 July to allow for Finance Minister Basil Rajapaksa as a National List Member of Parliament.

Meanwhile, it is reported that Ajith Nivard Cabraal will be sworn in as the Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka on 14 and 15 September

Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Prof. W.D. Lakshman is due to resign from the post tomorrow.

Accordingly, Ajith Nivard Cabraal is scheduled to assume duties as the new Governor on Thursday.

Journalists yesterday inquired about the swearing-in of Jayantha Ketagoda as the new Member of Parliament from Ajith Nivard Cabraal.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top