News Hotline +94 114 320 921 | News Email

President advice to officers not to worry about money and help Meethotamulla affected people

(UDHAYAM, COLOMBO) – President advised officials give fullest assistance to the people affected by the landslide of Meethotamulla garbage dump without any worries about fund availability.

The President stated this while participating at a special discussion yesterday (16) held at the Ministry of Disaster Management.

Main focus of this discussion was to move the garbage mountain to another area immediately.

Furthermore, President Sirisena instructed the officials to take immediate steps to evacuate the people in the area and provide safe please for them.

During the discussion, it was decided to evacuate the people into temporary shelters at 3 paddy warehouses currently available in the area. The President also instructed officials to provide all basic requirements on these people.

It was also discussed the steps needed to ensure the safety of their belongings and properties. The President ordered the officials to make a proper assessment and establish a proper security system to protect the goods and properties of the evacuated people.

They also discussed about the need for payment of compensation to the victims and the families and for their lost or damaged properties. The President asked the officials to submit a list of victims, injured numbers and the value of their damaged properties within five days.

The steps necessary for providing relief to the affected people, resettlement and continuation of search and rescue operations were also discussed.

Furthermore, the President advised them to do this all things and ensure that there would not be any complaint from the peoples.

With regard to the number of deaths in this disaster, the President instructed that the government should take the full responsibility of arranging funerals for the victims. He also said that similar meetings should be held at least thrice a week. The next meeting will be held on Wednesday (April 19) at the Ministry of Disaster Management.

Ministers Anura PriyadarshanaYapa, Susil Pramajayantha, Rajitha Senarathna, Patali Champika Ranawaka, Wijayadasa Rajapakshe, A.H.M Fowzie, Member of Parliament S.M Marikkar, Presana Solanga Arachchi, Senior Police officers, Three service commanders, security department heads and government officers joined this discussion.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top